Travel Restriction Changes Across Europe: What’s New?

Buildings reflect in the waters of a canal in Amsterdam

We take a look at some key travel restriction changes for travellers in and around Europe.

Tighter Travel Restriction Changes


Cyprus has moved Germany and Croatia to its orange, ‘medium risk’ list. This means that travellers from these countries will now need to present a negative PCR test (No older than 72 hours) and have another test on arrival. Currently on the green list, and not subject to any restrictions are:

Australia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Jordan, New Zealand, Poland, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia

Czech Republic

The Czech Republic has placed the following countries on its extremely high risk list: Brazil, Colombia, Mozambique, Nepal, Paraguay, Peru, Tanzania (including Zanzibar and Pemba islands). Travel to these countries is strongly discouraged by authorities. This measure is in place until the 30th of September.


Lithuania has tightened restrictions for travellers from: Bulgaria, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Germany. Arrivals from these countries must provide a negative PCR test no older than 72 hours, or an antigen test no older than 48. They will be tested again on arrival, and will need to self-isolate for 10 days with a test to be released earlier. These restrictions do not apply to fully vaccinated travellers. Malta and Latvia have been moved the the yellow list. Arrivals from these countries need to provide testing as above, and another test between 3 and 5 days after their arrival. No self-isolation is required.


Noway's travel restriction changes means visitors from Germany face more rules
The Norwegian fjords will be trickier to visit from Germany and Latvia

Norway has imposed stricter travel restrictions on arrivals from Germany and Latvia by adding them to the Orange list. This means that travellers from these countries need to present a negative PCR test, be tested again on arrival and enter a 10 day quarantine. The following countries are on Norway’s Green list:

Czech Republic, Faroe Islands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and specific regions in Finland.

The Netherlands

The Netherlands has added Bulgaria, Norway and the Jadranska Hrvatska region of Croatia to its high risk list. This means arrivals from these countries must present either a vaccination certificate, recovery certificate or negative PCR test in order to enter the Netherlands.


Germany has made several travel restriction changes. Brazil and Uruguay are no longer considered virus variant areas, which means travellers from these countries can enter Germany, although with restrictions. Brazil is now in the high risk categories along with the other new additions of:

Ireland (the Border and West regions), Greece (Crete and South Aegean), Kosovo, North Macedonia, and Dominica.

See Also: Germany Eases Restriction for 9 African Countries

Travel restrictions change rapidly, so travellers are advised to check for changes to travel rules before their trip.

Tagged : / / / /