Travel Changes Across the EU

Aside from re-imposing travel bans on travellers from the US, the EU and the EEA have experienced several travel changes this week. We take a look at what’s new.


Travellers from Norway, Slovenia, and Canada have been placed on the high risk, red list. This means they need to provide a negative PCR test no older than 72 hours prior to arrival, and be tested again once in Cyprus at their own cost.

Romania and Kuwait have been moved from the green list to the orange, which means these arrivals must present a negative PCR test no older than 72 hours.

Saudi Arabia has moved from the orange to the green list which means PCR testing is no longer a requirement.

Czech Republic

The Czech Republic has scrapped it’s ‘extreme risk’ black list of countries. Countries on this list have moved to the ‘dark red’ list, and are considered very high risk. The only European country currently on this list is Ireland. Cyprus, the Netherlands, Norway, San Marino and Slovenia have been moved to the red list, and Romania and the Azores have been moved to the orange list.

Travellers from most countries outside of the EU are only permitted to enter the Czech Republic for essential reasons. Unvaccinated travellers and those who have not recovered from Covid-19 in the last 180 days and are arriving from risk, or high risk countries, need to provide a negative PCR test on arrival, receive another test on day 5, and self-isolate until a negative result is received. These travel changes have been in effect since the beginning of September.


Unvaccinated travellers from Bulgaria, Norway, San Marino and Slovenia are now required to undergo a 10-day self-isolation on arrival in Estonia. These countries have been added to Estonia’s red list. Restrictions do not apply to travellers who have proof of recovering from Covid-19 within the last 180 days.


Travellers from Hong Kong, Macau, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Singapore and Taiwan can travel to Finland without facing any restrictions. Restrictions have been reinstated for traveller from Australia, Brunei, and Ukraine. Non-vaccinated travellers from these three countries can only enter Finland if they fall into one of the following categories:

  • Returning to Finland
  • Returning to another EU or Schengen country
  • Are in transit through Finland
  • Are entering Finland for essential reasons


Germany has made some travel changes by adding the following countries to its ‘high risk’ list:

  • Albania
  • Azerbaijan
  • Guatemala
  • Japan
  • Palestinian Territories
  • Serbia
  • Sri Lanka

Kuwait is no longer considered high risk, and has been removed from the list. Travellers from countries on the high risk list must provide either proof of vaccination, or recovery, or undergo a 14-day at home quarantine.


Travellers from Brazil, Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka will face stricter rules on arrival in Italy. Travel from these countries is only permitted for Italian citizen and residents, those studying in Italy, or those travelling to their minor child, spouse, or civil partner living in Italy. Those travellling from Brazil can do so if their provide proof to the government of the imperative need for their trip.


Unvaccinated travellers from Croatia and Slovenia are now required to undergo a 10-day self-isolation and present a negative PCR test on arrival in Lithuania. Travellers who can provide proof of recovery are exempt from quarantine requirements.


Norway has removed Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and the USA from its ‘safe’ Third Party country travel list in accordance with EU Council recommendations. Travellers from these countries will no longer be exempt from quarantine requirements, or benefit from lighter restrictions.

Tagged : / / /