Travel Restriction Changes Across Europe: What’s New?

We take a look at some key travel restriction changes for travellers in and around Europe.

Tighter Travel Restriction Changes


Cyprus has moved Germany and Croatia to its orange, ‘medium risk’ list. This means that travellers from these countries will now need to present a negative PCR test (No older than 72 hours) and have another test on arrival. Currently on the green list, and not subject to any restrictions are:

Australia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Jordan, New Zealand, Poland, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia

Czech Republic

The Czech Republic has placed the following countries on its extremely high risk list: Brazil, Colombia, Mozambique, Nepal, Paraguay, Peru, Tanzania (including Zanzibar and Pemba islands). Travel to these countries is strongly discouraged by authorities. This measure is in place until the 30th of September.


Lithuania has tightened restrictions for travellers from: Bulgaria, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Germany. Arrivals from these countries must provide a negative PCR test no older than 72 hours, or an antigen test no older than 48. They will be tested again on arrival, and will need to self-isolate for 10 days with a test to be released earlier. These restrictions do not apply to fully vaccinated travellers. Malta and Latvia have been moved the the yellow list. Arrivals from these countries need to provide testing as above, and another test between 3 and 5 days after their arrival. No self-isolation is required.


Noway's travel restriction changes means visitors from Germany face more rules
The Norwegian fjords will be trickier to visit from Germany and Latvia

Norway has imposed stricter travel restrictions on arrivals from Germany and Latvia by adding them to the Orange list. This means that travellers from these countries need to present a negative PCR test, be tested again on arrival and enter a 10 day quarantine. The following countries are on Norway’s Green list:

Czech Republic, Faroe Islands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and specific regions in Finland.

The Netherlands

The Netherlands has added Bulgaria, Norway and the Jadranska Hrvatska region of Croatia to its high risk list. This means arrivals from these countries must present either a vaccination certificate, recovery certificate or negative PCR test in order to enter the Netherlands.


Germany has made several travel restriction changes. Brazil and Uruguay are no longer considered virus variant areas, which means travellers from these countries can enter Germany, although with restrictions. Brazil is now in the high risk categories along with the other new additions of:

Ireland (the Border and West regions), Greece (Crete and South Aegean), Kosovo, North Macedonia, and Dominica.

See Also: Germany Eases Restriction for 9 African Countries

Travel restrictions change rapidly, so travellers are advised to check for changes to travel rules before their trip.

Tagged : / / / /

Airlines Ban Fabric Masks – What Types are Allowed?

There are so many question we have before we travel, and here’s the latest: What Types of Masks are Allowed on Planes? Using a fabric mask could lead you to being turned away from your flight.

Since February, German national, Lufthansa, has had a strict mask mandate in place. Fabric masks, scarves, and ‘everyday masks’ are no longer allowed. Instead passengers would only be permitted if they wore masks that were either surgical, were an FFP2 mask, or a KN95/N95 model.

Now, more airlines have joined Lufthansa with stricter mask mandates.

Which Airlines Accept Which Masks

On the 16th of August, Finnair’s new mask rules came into play. Now, only FFP2, KN95 and N95 or FFP3 respirator masks without valves will be accepted for travel. The airline reiterated that masks must be worn at all times, and can only be removed briefly for eating and drinking.

Air France has also made surgical masks mandatory on all its flights. FFP masks are also permitted, but cloth masks are not. Additionally, masks must be worn both inside and outside of the terminals.

Air Croatia has advised passengers that they will only accept surgical masks and filtering masks (FFP2, KN95 and N95). Filtering masks with valves, and cloth masks will not be allowed.

Swissair requires all their passengers to wear surgical grade masks if they are over the age of 12. Once again, the FFP2, KN95, or N95 masks are also accepted.

LATAM airlines in South America requires passengers to wear either three layered surgical masks, or KN95 or N95 masks on their domestic flights.

As more and more airlines move to specifications on mask mandates, it’s better to play it safe when travelling and invest in some surgical masks. Across the world, more and more airlines, even if not requiring a specific type of mask, are banning fabric masks, scarves, bandanas, and balaclavas.

So, don’t get caught with your mask down – double check your airline’s requirements before travelling!

Tagged : / / /